I’ve been all around this world

Do you ever sit back and think about how cool it is how we can travel all over the world using the internet?  Random backstreet neighborhoods, millions of opinions and perspectives about any topic, take in the view from the top of Mt. Everest or even from space.

It’s incredible.

I get teachers from all over the world asking to join PikiFriends. USA, Japan, France, Pakistan, South Korea, New Caledonia, Mexico, Canada, Australia, Hungary, Brazil, the UK, Columbia, Argentina… I don’t mean to say that we’re wildly successful; our actual user numbers are quite small, but at any rate it’s amazing to hear from teachers all over the globe.

How do they find out about Piki?  They probably read my writing on some forum, bragging about how wonderful Piki is.  Hopefully there’s some word of mouth happening, too.

In my travels both real and virtual, I’ve seen what teachers are dealing with in many different situations.  Sure, the differences in culture, geography, language, it’s all there. But for us teachers, we’re all working with youth, challenged more or less by the same classroom dynamics, school politics, ultra-busy schedules, how to turn on that light in our students…

When you think about it, we teachers, we’re really like one massive worldwide team, doing what we can to teach our kids, and hopefully influence their lives in positive ways.  We make the world a better place, don’t we?  I’d like to believe that.

Too corny? Sorry.

2 thoughts on “I’ve been all around this world

  1. Personnally, I found out about PikiFriends over another internet teachers’s site. (though I can’t remember which, as I belong to several)
    You’re right, it is fun to think of all these people doing the same thing as myself, all over the world… and I would love to think I influence young people positively! Corny? Yeah! So what? It’s true, too.
    Have a great day, among your pupils…

Leave a Reply

